Philosophy: A Guide to Happiness

Philosophy: A Guide to Happiness is a Channel 4 TV series written and presented by Alain de Botton in which he presents the main ideas of the six philosophers he admires the most, Socrates, Epicurus, Seneca, Montaigne, Schopenhauer, and Nietzsche, how these ideas apply to our modern life and how they might make us happier. The film is based on Alain de Botton's book The Consolations of Philosophy.

There are six episodes, each about 24 minutes long:
1. Socrates on Self-Confidence
2. Epicurus on Happiness
3. Seneca on Anger
4. Montaigne on Self-Esteem
5. Schopenhauer on Love
6. Nietzsche on Hardship

Your Comment

rating 8.3 / 10
category Philosophy
year 2000
with Alain de Botton
duration 2 hrs 25 mins
added November 24, 2016

Recently Added

Howard Goodall's Story of Music (Art, 8.2)
Don't Panic: The Truth About Population (Society, 7.5)
A History of Art in Three Colours (Art, 7.7)
The Wall Street Code (Economics, 7.6)
Picasso: Love, Sex and Art (Art, 7.0)
  Like xD on Facebook for updates
  Follow xD on Twitter for updates