This Is Modern Art

This Is Modern Art is a 1999 documentary series presented by Matthew Collings exploring the different expression forms in modern art by looking at the work and ideas of dozens of prominent artists, including Andy Warhol, Francis Bacon, Jackson Pollock, Mark Rothko, Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Rene Magritte, and Salvador Dali.

There are six parts, each about 50 minutes long:

1. I am a Genius - The three geniuses that moved the parameters of modern art - Pablo Picasso, Jackson Pollock, Andy Warhol.

2. Shock! Horror! - Shocks and thrills in modern art - Francisco Goya, Tracey Emin, Francis Bacon, Gilbert & George, Vito Acconci, Paul McCarthy.

3. Lovely Lovely - Beauty in modern art - Henri Matisse, Chris Ofili, Patrick Heron, Jules Olitski, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Elizabeth Peyton, Alex Katz.

4. Nothing matters - Modern artists making something out of nothing - Kazimir Malevich, Mark Rothko, Yves Klein, Donald Judd, Glenn Brown.

5. Hollow Laughter - Jokes and funniness in modern art - Marcel Duchamp, Sean Landers, Rene Magritte, Martin Kippenberger, Fluxus, Gavin Turk.

6. The Shock of the Now - "The anxieties we have about the art of now, how do we evaluate it, with all the publicity and hype and money that surrounds it" - Salvador Dali, Jeff Koons, Philip Taaffe, Bruce Nauman, Darren Almond, John Currin.

Your Comment

rating 7.8 / 10
category Art
year 1999
with Matthew Collings
duration 5 hrs 3 mins
added November 1, 2017

Recently Added

Howard Goodall's Story of Music (Art, 8.2)
Don't Panic: The Truth About Population (Society, 7.5)
A History of Art in Three Colours (Art, 7.7)
The Wall Street Code (Economics, 7.6)
Picasso: Love, Sex and Art (Art, 7.0)

Also in Art

Howard Goodall's Story of Music (2013, 8.2)
Picasso: Love, Sex and Art (2015, 7.0)
The World's Most Expensive Paintings (2011, 7.3)
Impressionism: Revenge of the Nice (2004, 7.5)
A History of Art in Three Colours (2012, 7.7)
  Like xD on Facebook for updates
  Follow xD on Twitter for updates